• LinkedIn
  • WhatsApp

Nepal A Division is back!

The Martyr’s Memorial A Division in Nepal will resume this weekend, and will live stream on mycujoo. The main Nepalese football division, women's football league, futsal league and more will be on mycujoo for a period of four years.

The Nepal league has not been played since four years

Fabrice Deschamps
From Amsterdam

In Nepal, national football will finally get back to life, and will be broadcast live on mycujoo. After five years of difficulties, the Nepalese Federation (ANFA) has announced the return of the First Division, called the Martyr’s Memorial A Division, which will start on September 29.

The league features 14 teams, namely Three Star Club, Manang Marshyangdi Club, Nepal Police Club, Nepal Armed Police Force Club, Tribhuvan Army Club, Jawalakhel Youth Club, Friends’ Club, Sankata Club, Machhindra Club, Saraswati Youth Club, Chyasal Youth Club, New Road Team, Brigade Boys and Himalayan Sherpa Club. The champion will qualify for the AFC Club Cup Championship next year.

The opening game will see New Road Team take on Nepal Army on the opening day while Saraswoti Youth will play against Sankata Club on 1st October at the ANFA Complex, Satdobato.

"We have carried out careful preparation for the league and we have been 100 percent on track on all issues", assured ANFA General Secretary Indraman Tuladhar.
Football has been highly popular in Nepal for a long time, and the very first national tournament - the Ram Janaki Football tournament - was actually created in 1934. The Nepal Police Force team was dominant in the 50s, before Ranipokhari Corner Team, the oldest club in the country, took over the lead in the 70s.

RCT remained as one of the most important club in the country (six titles), right behind Manang Marshyangdi Club and its seven titles. LH MMC, a club based in Swayambhu, Kathmandu, which emerged in the early 80’s, is actually the reigning champions as they won the last league back in 2014.

But the opposition will certainly be very strong this season, as other historical clubs such as Nepal Police Club (3 titles), Sankata Club (4 titles) or New Road Team (4 titles) will be in the race as well. And more recent ones, such as Chyasal Youth Club, based in Lalitpur, have reinforced their squads with international players (Bimal Gharti Magar for CYC).

The excitement is obvious in the country and even the Kathmandu Mayor, Bidhya Sundar Shakya, showed his support to clubs of his city (Machhindra FC, Himalayan Sherpa Club, Sankata Club, NRT, MMC and Saraswoti Youth Club): "We would like to support the clubs from the city in coming days. I want a club from Kathmandu to win the Martyr's memorial league".

The Martyr's Memorial 'A' Division League games will live stream on mycujoo, as well as Women’s leagues, Futsal leagues and other competitions.

Follow the Martyr's Memorial A Division