• WhatsApp

Follow the AFF Women’s championship on mycujoo

The AFF Women’s championship 2018 is about to start. This tournament organised by the ASEAN football federation sees teams of Southeast Asia contesting for two weeks between 30 June and 13 July, in Palembang, Indonesia. You can follow the competition on mycujoo.

Indonesian women's team at training before AFF Championship

The tournament, which took place for the first time in 2004 and already had eight editions, will see Australia, Malaysia, Cambodia, Thailand, Timor Leste (Group A), Vietnam, Myanmar, Philippines, Indonesia, Singapore, (Group B) competing for the trophy.

Follow the tournament on mycujoo

Thailand is the current holder, retaining the trophy in 2016 after winning 2015 and 2011, being the only team to have won it three times. Together with Australia they can be still considered among the favorites.

However, the other teams do not have the intention to come as sin-offering and believe in their chances too. The Phillippine’s FF Secretary General declared for instance : “Last April, this team made history as they came close to qualifying for the FIFA Women’s World Cup in the AFC Women’s Asian Cup. The hoped- for success that this team will achieve in this tournament should continue to inspire women’s football players in the country.

The Australians will come with Young Matildas (U-19) full of ambitions and reinforced by players who already have played for the Matildas : Larissa Crummer, Emily Condon, Rachel Lowe, Princess Ibini, and Alex Chidiac.

Coach Leah Blayney considers that “many of Australia’s elite, emerging young female players will be exposed to international competition against senior national women’s football teams from across South-East Asia while we are in Indonesia” will be a great experience.